„Neutones“ rang in the Ahrweiler Synagogue- Ensemble „VivazzA“ shone with a mature presence“

Bürgerverein Synagoge

During the time of the National Socialism, most forms of new music, such as jazz, were considered to be degenerate. Any distribution of this music including performances were strictly prohibited. The exhibition „Entartete Musik/Degenerate Musik“ for the occasion of the Reichsmusiktage 1938 in Düsseldorf criticised the works of composers such as Paul Hindemith, Kurt Weill as well as jewish composers. These composers were vilified as „Neutöner“, forbidden and politically persecuted.

This program is dedicated to 4 „Neutöner“.

Pavel Haas (1899-1944)
Quintetto per fiati, Op. 10 (1929)

Leo Justinus Kauffmann (1901-1944)
Quintett (1943)

Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942)

Valerie Coleman
Suite: Portraits of Josephine Baker (2006)

Instrumentation: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn


Deutschlandfunk radio production from May 9, 2015 (In German)
Als Friede ein Fremdwort war - When the word peace was an alien word“ honoring the end of the second world war.